Allegiant by Veronica Roth (Divergent #3)

Allegiant by Veronica Roth (Divergent #3)

**spoiler free**

Finally, it is time to see what lays beyond the fence. Tris, Four and a few others make their way out into the great beyond to find the truth of their society. But the truth is worse than she could imagine, and now she has to save everything she once wished she could leave behind.

Welp. Insurgent was a struggle for me. It took me a while to read it and it just dragged and dragged, with a whole lot of angst and fighting. Allegiant was a bit better. I was happy to finally learn why exactly the factions existed, but was disappointed that it wasn’t really anything new; it was wasn’t much different than what we knew from the beginning.

The pacing of this book was a bit faster than Insurgent, but no where near as constant as Divergent. The dual narration made it easier for me to read, as I after the first book, I liked Four better than Tris. Tris got on my nerves the entire duration of Insurgent and for about half of Allegiant.

So, eventually, Tris stopped being a whiny brat and I was able to glimpse the Tris I once liked. The last third of the book was fun to read, but around the middle it really, really started to drag. After all the truths are announced, there is some unnecessary sub plots, followed by an exciting last forty pages.

By the way, what did the allegiant have anything to do with the actual plot? Still not sure about that one.

I know everyone was pissed off about the ending, but I thought it was realistic and fitting.

This series really went downhill after Divergent. The ending was so-so. All I can think right now is, “Meh. On to the next~”

Leave a Reply

