Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi (Shatter Me #3)

Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi

*spoiler free (for book three only)*

After learning that Omega Point has been completely destroyed, Juliette is completely distraught. Juliette and Warner friend a small group of survivors, and from there, it’s time to take down the Reestablishment! I don’t want to say much as, as it would be spoilery.

I have to say, this has become one of my top favorite series. It has great character growth, action, drama and humor (I’m lookin’ at you, Kenji). When we first met Juliette she was a whiny, scared, sulking, young girl who was too afraid to say what she really meant. By the third book, Juliette has become a leader, who is not about to take your shit.

This is also one of the first books were my OTP did a 180. That was a nice touch.

It’s hard to end dystopian novels; do you leave it open or tie it with a neat little bow? Does everything get better? or …not so much (i.e. Requiem, Mockingjay, Alligent, etc). However, I was super satisfied with this ending. It was the perfect in between.

In Ignite Me, we see different sides of characters we thought we already knew, including Juliette. Kenji, however, remains one of the funniest characters I have ever read (he had me literally loling), and his humor was much needed in such a dreary dystopian society. Also, Taherah’s writing is super dramatic; most of the time I enjoy it, but there are other times when it gets a bit annoying. She has great descriptions of feelings and awesome metaphors that sometimes blow my mind. I really felt like I understood Juliette in a way that I haven’t felt with other narrating characters, mainly because of the writing.

One of my favorite stylistic aspects of the novel was… there was none this. Not only do we see Juliette’s growth in her actions, we also see it in this somewhat tangible way.

I laughed, I cried, I cheered… I didn’t want it to end!

Leave a Reply

