Ship of the Week – Will and Tessa (Infernal Devices)

Screen shot 2014-05-05 at 5.15.31 PM

Edited by Hermionegranger.tumblr.com

William Herondale & Tessa Gray of The Infernal Devices series by Cassandra Clare. (this post contains spoilers for all three Infernal Devices books.)

The Inernal Devices is one of my favorite young adult series, and no ship has made me laugh, cry, and well, cry, more than Will and Tessa. First of all, may I mention, I have never read any love triangle quite like this one. It is literally the most painful love triangle I have ever witnessed (which I’m sure you’d agree). Once I put down Clockwork Prince I was convinced there was no possible happy ending; someone was going to die or be left completely heartbroken. Of course Will discovers he is not cursed at the same time as Tessa agrees to marry Jem. COULD YOU HAVE MADE IT MORE PAINFUL, CASSIE?? The scene where Will confesses his love to Tessa and she says it’s too late…. so heartbreaking. Their love was so pure and true and passoinate, I’ve never been more affected by two character’s love.

As I as saying, this is the most painful love triangle one could possibly come up with because the three of them all love each other. And Jem’s inevitable death didn’t make it any happier. I did love Jem, we all loved Jem, and I wanted him to be happy, but Will and Tessa’s love was so true I couldn’t bare to see them apart, leaving me and every reader feeling insanely torn. Well done, Cassie, well done.

And that epilogue…. oh that epilogue. What can I say about it? It was beautiful and heartbreaking and a lovely ending to the series. I don’t think I’ve ever cried so hard in a book. (Well, maybe TFIOS)

So now, let’s get to the fun stuff, in celebration of Will and Tessa.

Videos:

Their shared passion for words and stories is one of my favorite aspects of their relationship. Will’s letter to Tessa is a beautiful depiction of that. Here’s a truly lovely video featuring Will’s letter.

This next video strikes me because of its song choice, “In My Veins” which is a perfect song for the couple.

This last video takes a different angle to the relationship, showing Tessa in 2007 looking back on her time with Will.


Memorable Moments & Quotes:
Over the three books of the Infernal Devices, Will and Tessa had many memorable moments and quotes, but let’s just mention a few.

edit by Milkovjch.tumblr.com

edit by Milkovjch.tumblr.com

The First Meeting:
“My name is Herondale,” the boy said cheerfully. “William Herondale, but everyone calls me Will. Is this really your room? Not very nice, is it?” He wandered toward the window, pausing to examine the stacks of books on her bedside table, and then the bed itself. He waved a hand at the ropes. “Do you often sleep tied to the bed?”

The First Kiss:
“For so many years she had wondered what her first kiss would be like – if he would be handsome, if he would love her, if he would be kind. She had never imagined that the kiss would be so brief and desperate and wild. Or that it would taste of holy water. Holy water and blood.” 

milkovjchedit1

Edited by Milkovjch.tumblr.com

The Balcony Scene:
“We should go back inside,” she said, in a half whisper. She did not want to go back inside. She wanted to stay here, with Will achingly close, almost leaning into her. She could feel the heat that radiated from his body. His dark hair fell around the mask, into his eyes, tangling with his long eyelashes. “We have only a little time-“
She took a step forward-and stumbled into Will, who caught her. She froze-and then her arms crept around him, her fingers lacing themselves behind his neck. Her face was pressed against his throat, his soft hair under her fingers. She closed her eyes, shutting out the dizzying world, the light beyond the French windows, the glow of the sky. She wanted to be here with Will, cocooned in this moment, inhaling the clean sharp scent of him., feeling the beat of his heart against hers, as steady and strong as the pulse of the ocean.
She felt him inhale. “Tess,” he said. “Tess, look at me.”

The Confession:
“It’s too late,” she said.
“Don’t say that.” His voice was half a whisper. “I love you, Tessa. I love you.”

Edited by catastrophicallyclace.tumblr.com

Edited by catastrophicallyclace.tumblr.com

The Proposal:
“Of course you can have a true Shadowhunter name,” Will said. “You can have mine.”
Tessa stared at him, all black and white against the black-and-white snow and stone. “Your name?”
Will took a step toward her, till they stood face-to-face. Then he reached to take her hand and slid off her glove, which he put into his pocket. He held her bare hand in his, his fingers curved around hers. His hand was warm and callused, and his touch made her shiver. His eyes were steady and blue; they were everything that Will was: true and tender, sharp and witty, loving and kind. “Marry me,” he said. “Marry me, Tess. Marry me and be called Tessa Herondale. Or be Tessa Gray, or be whatever you wish to call yourself, but marry me and stay with me and never leave me, for I cannot bear another day of my life to go by that does not have you in it.” 

Edited by Catastrophicallyclace.tumblr.com

Edited by Catastrophicallyclace.tumblr.com

Let us not forget…

  • “I am catastrophically in love with you.”
  • “If no one cares for you at all, do you even really exist?”
  • “I had come to think i would never love anyone, but I love her.”
  • “He tasted like snowflakes and wine.  Like winter, and Will, and London.”
  • “Don’t you see, Will? You’re a person like me. You are like me. You say the things I think but never say out loud. You read the books I read. You love the po- etry I love. You make me laugh with your ri- diculous songs and the way you see the truth of everything. I feel like you can look inside me and see all the places I am odd or unusual and fit your heart around them, for you are odd and unusual in just the same way.” With the hand that was not holding his, she touched his cheek, lightly. “We are the same.”


Honestly, I could continue with lovely quotes from Will and Tessa for days. But as we draw to the end of this walk down Wessa lane, I’d like to leave you with a few Will and Tessa fanmixes! Click the graphics to check them out.

Fanmixes:

Fanmix by TheGreyBeyond.tumblr.com

Fanmix by TheGreyBeyond.tumblr.com

Fanmix by KaraOswald.tumblr.com

Fanmix by KaraOswald.tumblr.com

Fanmix by Hermionegranger.tumblr.com

Fanmix by Hermionegranger.tumblr.com

~Carly

One response to “Ship of the Week – Will and Tessa (Infernal Devices)

Leave a Reply

